Speeding may seem like an innocent event, but the state takes it very seriously. A speeding ticket conviction can lead to the loss of your license, depending on the circumstances surrounding the event. That is why you need to seek the counsel of a skilled lawyer if you are given a speeding ticket.
Contact Campbell Law Group, PLLC today to discuss the details of your ticket.
In North Carolina, your driver's license can be suspended for accumulating 8 driving points in a
12 month period or 12 driving points in a 36 month (3 year) period.
Having a driver’s license in North Carolina is treated like a privilege, not a right, and that means the privilege can be lost. Most traffic offenses, including speeding tickets, are given a points value by the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles. If a driver receives 12 or more points over any three-year period, the driver’s license can be suspended. If the driver’s license is suspended, the driver will have to go through a complicated reinstatement process to drive again. In the first three years after a license is reinstated, the point limit drops to 8, compared to 12. Here is a link to the North Carolina Department of Insurance that contains helpful information: Consumer Guide to Automobile Insurance
Speeding tickets may seem like no big deal, but if you are caught speeding at a speed over 55 mph, even just 1 mph above the speed limit, you receive 3 points. If you speed through a school zone or safety zone, you can receive an additional 3 points. Speeding at lower speeds on regular roads can earn you 2 points.
In addition, if you are speeding 15 mph or more at a speed above 55 mph, you may have your licensed automatically suspended or revoked, regardless of the number of points you have. So, if you are driving on a road with a 45 mph marked speed limit and are clocked at 61 mph, you could lose your license immediately upon conviction. Also, you can lose your licenses if you receive two convictions for speeding over 55 mph in one year.
|Passing a stopped school bus loading or unloading children||5|
|Hit and run, property damage only||4|
|Following too closely||4|
|Driving on the wrong side of the road||4|
|Failure to yield right-of-way to pedestrian pursuant to GS 20-158(b)(2)b.||4|
|Failure to yield right-of-way to bicycle, motor scooter, or motorcycle||4|
|Running through a stop sign||3|
|Speeding more than 55 mph||3|
|Speeding through a school zone||3|
|Failure to yield to right of way||3|
|No driver license of liense expired more than one year||3|
|Running through a red light||3|
|Failure to stop for a siren||3|
|Speeding through safety zone||3|
|Failure to report accident where such report is required||3|